Irish Beef Stew


Sunday as I am planning our meals for the week, i’m just chatting away to husband as I normally do. We are the epitome of an older couple…I swear we were born in the wrong era. Anyways, i’m going through all the meal ideas I have for the week and he pipes up that he noticed a recipe on his scrolling through Facebook that he would like to try.  I calm my insides from the excitement with how involved he is becoming with our journey to cooking great food and I ask him what it was. He pulls up this video for the delicious looking stew and I was sold at the word crock pot because that means set it and forget and coming home to a hot meal! Side note…I have been so tempted to buy a hot plate and have husband help me rig up some ridiculous camera over my shoulder so I to could make these Facebook videos. I just haven’t quite talked him into that one yet…

We both glaze over the laundry list of ingredients…a little intimated and concerned the one meal is going to cost half our budget for the week but shockingly once I started looking I realized I had most of it in my pantry and fridge already with the modifications I planned on making. Score! PLUS this recipe has all the makings of a meal that all three of us could love.

Being the recovering procrastinator that I am though, this recipe got pushed to the very end of the week, and even to Thursday morning before I left for work. As active and healthy as I have been the last bit I still hate getting out of bed early in the morning, so don’t think all of this is just coming naturally to me, I am not some magical health robot that you are incapable of becoming and a life that isn’t feasible for you…This lifestyle is work, but it is definitely work worth doing. Let’s carry on…since I was already late with getting things ready, I did cut a few corners with the original recipe such as browning the meat before I put it in the crock pot. Cory and I both thought perhaps it wouldn’t have made too much of a difference but I think next time we will try to follow it to a T and see what happens. My modified version was demolished in less than 48 hours though, so if you are looking for time saving you are not losing flavor here.

So are you ready? Here comes the recipe!

20170323_064523

  • 1 1/2 lb chuck roast cut into 1 1/2 inch pieces or pre-cut stew meat
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  •  1 lbs Yukon Gold potatoes, halved or quartered depending on size
  • 1 lb baby carrots
  • 1 red onion, diced
  • 3 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 carton beef broth
  • 1 small can tomato paste
  • 2 Tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 Tbsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp dried parsley flakes
  • 2 bay leaves

Instructions

  • Cut potatoes and carrots and onion and place all in the bottom of a slow cooker
  • Layer the meat on top of the potatoes and carrots
  • Add all other ingredients in the slow cooker, topping with bay leaves, give a quick stir
  • Cook on low for 7-8 hours or on high for approximately 4 hours

Voila! It is complete!

17436201_1620653661296825_3324931663287296626_o

This modified version was easier for me because it is less dishes and quick to throw together. I also needed to make mine gluten free so that I could eat it so I took out the flour and tried to lighten it some with removing the butter and oil. I am going to link the original post since I got the idea from these lovely ladies for the full affair.

Let me know what you think! Happy crock potting! ;)

Original Recipe: https://www.favfamilyrecipes.com/slow-cooker-irish-beef-stew/

 

Leave a Reply

