and then there was…


Peanut Butter.

I personally have been in love with the J.I.F. jar from a young age. Now that I am older and living a healthier lifestyle, I started to take a more natural route when it came to picking my favorite peanut butter out. Now that I have learned to COOK, I decided it was time to learn to make my own.

As fate would have it, a small (very small) box in the food section of my Women’s Health magazine mentioned how to make your own nut butter, and Kroger happened to have a giant pile of bagged peanuts that were on clearance just begging me to buy them.

After three days of shelling peanuts…about two hours of shelling peanuts…I finally had enough to mix up the easy recipe and took on the  challenge.

The results?

photo (2)

Deliciousness. In a jar.

So are YOU ready to make your own peanut butter? You better be!

The recipe is very simple, and from the rest of the article I grasped that you could do this with any kind of nut butter that you would like to make. My next task is almond butter, because who can afford 6.50 a jar?? 

Make Your Own Nut Butter

  • 2 Cups, nut of your choice (in this case, peanuts.)
  • 2 TBS. oil of your choice (the article suggests peanut, vegetable, or canola)
  • 1/8 tsp salt (if you are using already salted nuts you may not need the extra)

First you want to add your peanuts and salt to your food processor (I actually did this in my Ninja blender) and grind as fine as they will process. Then, slowly add in the oil until you reach the desired consistency that you are looking for while mixing. For a crunchy peanut butter, stir in the desired amount of chopped peanuts to your jar and stir.

And that’s it. I added all mine into a mason jar and put it in the fridge since it was not sealed and it sets up exactly like a regular natural peanut butter does once it is opened. I would think you could add other flavors to this base, such as honey or raisins and cinnamon (like another peanut butter company I LOVE, Peanut Butter & Co.).

Peanut butter is a great source of proteins and healthy fats that keeps you feeling full. When you eat it in the natural form, such as this, you don’t have to worry about the added sugar or other processed ingredients that go into the non-natural peanut butters. And for someone like me, that is important.

So that is what I have for you tonight! I hope you are all having a great evening! Off to get in another great workout.

Until the next time…

One thought on “and then there was…

  1. this reminded me to try this today…I had forgotten about it over the andy griffith season 1 gift excitement. I’ll let you know how it comes out!

Leave a Reply

