juice.


Just do it. 

Sorry Nike, your phrase has been taken for the purposes of telling people more they need to do. (Does it help if I tell people I love your training shoes and think they should own a pair? I hope so.) 

Back to business! I have recently been watching as many food documentaries that I can possibly watch around everything else that I have to get finished through the day, and after watching Hungry for Change, I was sold on buying a juicer. Not because I intend on going vegetarian and plan on going on a 6 month long juice cleanse, but because I saw the benefits of shoving numerous servings of vegetables and fruits into a juicer and drinking them instead of trying to eat them all everyday.

I’m not going to lie to you and tell you I am one of those people that love salad and could give up my potatoes for only green vegetables for the rest of my life. For those that truly love them, I think you are amazing and I’m getting there, but it is a process, just like everything else on this journey. But I am going to tell you that I know and understand how important getting in a balanced amount of all the food groups is when it comes to whole body health. By not eating and trying new foods and cancelling out eating a food just because we don’t like it one certain way, we are missing out on so many vital vitamins and essentials that our body needs and wants.

Think about it. 

Our bodies work everyday, all day, non-stop, for our ENTIRE life. When it stops, WE stop. I believe that fact should teach us that we should be treating it with respect and giving it the nourishment that it deserves.  So let’s get to it!

After my Breville juicer arrived at my doorstep (along with beginner guide to juicing I bought to go with it!), I had a lot of fun going to the store, filling up my cart with veggies and fruits and going on to turn it on and start making my own juice!

I have tried a few different recipes, some better than others, but my favorite so far has to be this metabolism boosting juice for two reasons: 1) it’s delicious and 2) it has TWO ingredients!

Yum!

Yum.

1 Peeled Grapefruit

1-2 Peeled Lemons

Peel and Juice and Drink! That’s it.

DSCN5491

It is a fantastic blend of sweet and sour and just the right amount of tartness. Grapefruits and lemons are great for detox and weight loss, so it is great to have such an easy way to get two for one in a glass.

So there you have it. I suppose I might sound pushy telling you to go out and get yourself a juicer, but I will tell you that you won’t regret it if you DO decide that you want to try one out. I was skeptical, but now I am sold. After buying the juicer, I decided to watch Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead, and I was totally convinced that I made the right choice (it’s on Netflix!).

Now it’s off to some night time yoga and trying to get some rest for the night. I hope everyone has a lovely evening or day, wherever you are.

-Holley-

Leave a Reply

