go on…


…be happy. 

That is my mantra now. Or should I say the new mantra that I am going to try to live by. That probably sounds crazy to most of you, but if you really think about it, how often do we really allow ourselves to just BE happy? Always concerned with bills, getting to places on time, making sure those around us have what they need, when really we should take some time to focus on ourselves.

Now this idea is not my own, not entirely, so to give credit where credit is due I will tell you that all this has stemmed from the book “The Happiness Project” by Gretchen Rubin. It is an amazing book, hard to put down, funny and insightful all at the same time. If you haven’t heard of it, look it up and quickly do yourself a favor and read it! I feel like I understand how important making myself happy is in the grand schemes of life now. She works through an entire year, month by month, going through different aspects of her life to improve her happiness. It’s great.

I think for me, working on small goals over a long period of time seems to work better, so for now I am going to start with making sure I take time for myself each week to do something that I love, to improve my happiness, and my follow-through skills (a skill which is lacking if i’m honest). So for starters, I am going to make it a point to write here, once a week, on things that mean the most to me and my healthy lifestyle. Personally I think this will improve my happiness significantly because it makes me take the time to reflect on my lifestyle and really think about what makes me feel good. To much time is spent focusing on the negative things that happen and not enough on the positive, and striving to have a more positive outlook is something that everyone should try to do.

Not only will this bring my focus back to things that make me happy, but it will give me something to follow through with. Sometimes, as I think everyone probably does from time to time, I lack motivation. But if anything is worth doing, it’s worth doing well. And really, I’ve come to realize that when I do something well, even something that I dislike, that I feel a great sense of pride and accomplishment once it is done. I figured this out doing school work one night when I was working on an assignment that we have to do weekly, that takes at least a good hour of my time to finish properly. When I slack off and am not as thorough as I COULD be I don’t feel like I am living up to my abilities, however when I do my work and do it to the best of my abilities, it is almost like a calm comes over me and I feel relaxed and proud. (My husband wishes I would apply this to putting the DVD’s in their proper cases when I change them out…bad habit). So by making myself sit and write (which I dearly love) at least once a week will help me to become more focused on following through while adding to my happiness through reliving my enjoyable experiences.

So that is the basics of it. I think perhaps I will try to add in smaller goals as I stay steady with the ones I have. Just like working towards losing weight and becoming physically stronger, it is setting small obtainable goals to improve your over all health. I believe focusing on what makes me happy instead of what isn’t the greatest part of life, will help me to stay healthy physically, emotionally, mentally, and even spiritually.

truth.

I hope everyone has a wonderful day!

If you are interested in learning about ways to improve your happiness from an outside source, I would seriously recommend you look into Gretchen’s books (I’m reading Happier at Home right now…). I would love to discuss some of the concepts with others, almost like an online book club! 

One thought on “go on…

  1. I have been on a Happiness Kick for about a year, trying to understand what it is that makes people happy and how we can gain control of our happiness. It’s a challenging subject, and I think that’s partly because it varies so much for each of us. But I will definitely check out this book.

    Good luck in your effort to maintain happiness!

Leave a Reply

