excuses…


 

You make them, I make them, everyone makes them, however,

truth

So when it comes to our lives, and in the case of my post, our fitness, let’s do everything in our power to not make them…

Well folks, it is the longest day of the week that we all dread Monday again, which means it is time for life to come back to normal for the week until we can all breath a sign of relief for Friday again. In the meantime, I hope that I can interest you in hearing a few things that I have to say to make your day a little more interesting! Tonight I think I want to focus on my love of short workouts and just how great they can be for you.

The biggest factor that contributes to my love of HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) is TIME! My life tends to get busy a lot of the time, and I am sure that many people live even busier lives than me. When this happens, our minds can sometimes talk us out of taking that time for ourselves even when we know we should workout and make us believe that we should be doing other things instead. WRONG! With HIIT it is possible to get in a very effective workout, while still leaving plenty of time for the rest of whatever life throws at us.

One of my now favorite types of workouts to do would be the AMRAP (As Many Reps As Possible). This workout gives you a certain set of exercises, with a certain count of reps for each one, and then gives you a specific amount of time to finish as many as you can in. For example: 10 burpees, 20 squats, 30 alternating lunges; 7 minutes (I just made this up on the fly, but hey, if you try it let me know!). You would want to record however many sets and then reps of the moves you could do within that 7 minutes. The key to AMRAP’s is speed without compromising form. As with any workout, short, high intensity workouts are not any different. If you do not keep good form then you are only wasting your time. 

Just the other night I completed a workout that was designed by my own personal hero Jillian. (If any of you are familiar with me or with my blog you will know that Jillian Michaels is like my fitness and wellness hero.) The exercises are to be done for one minute each, and each move repeated once after you have gone through them all, giving you a 16 minute workout that will have your body ON FIRE!

Jillian’s Toning and Cardio Workout:

Up and Over’s

Alternating Jump Kicks

Abs Sprawl

Ready, Set, Go’s (Runner’s Lunge, bringing the back heel in to the bent legs foot and taking it back out for the rep.)

Alternating Plank Punches

Pop-Ups

Alternating Lateral Burpee’s

Dragging Dog

This workout had me in sweat and laying on the floor after only the 16 minutes. For a mom who needs to get things done, this is the perfect way to get in your workout without killing all your time. You could also count the reps that you are getting on each move and when you do the workout again try to beat your personal best. That is another aspect of AMRAP’s that I love as well, you are competing against yourself!

All in all, I guess what my main point is that each of us are probably going to find an excuse to skip out on a workout now and again, the important thing is to fight that urge and give ourselves that time we deserve.

My question for everyone tonight is what do you think your most common excuse is for not taking the time to workout? I know my most common reason is because of not having enough time to finish chores and such through the day when I am spending time with my son. To resolve this, I take him and set him on the counter to talk to me while I do dishes, or let him help me cook, or find him something to play while I am sorting through all our clutter. I just had to find ways to make him happy, while keeping the promise I had made to myself.

I think that is all for tonight, I still need to get in my workout for the day as well! I hope you all have a great evening and a fantastic Tuesday! Until next time…

Holley

 

Link to Jillian’s Workout!: http://www.self.com/jumpstart/2012/workout#slide=1 

2 thoughts on “excuses…

  1. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an really long comment but after
    I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyway, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

    1. Thank you so much! Sorry I did not reply sooner to your comment. Word press changing their layout some has me learning everything over again! (And I wasn’t that great at it before! lol.) But thank you so much for taking a look, hopefully as time progresses my blog skills will grow. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

