being a gluten free me


So since the summer time, I took it upon myself to become gluten free. My aunt has celiac disease which is of course an intolerance to gluten in foods and other products, which if she does get gluten in her system, she gets really sick. I had developed a rash from the time my son was born until this past summer that would burn and itchy and just made me completely self concious.I decided to try going gluten free after I saw an article about how rashes can develop from gluten intolerance, and what do you know, the rash disappeared. Since the dermatologists wouldn’t/couldn’t diagnose me with an intolerance to anything, I just continued cutting it out of my diet on my own diagnosis, and so far the only time I get the rashes is when I have eaten something with gluten in it.

Now going gluten free has been a task, especially when you are already trying to afford eating healthy and feed a family on top of it. But it is a learning process and I am doing fairly well with it. I have found some of my favorite gluten free products come from Bob’s Red Mill brand items. Not only are they all delicious, but they are also pretty cost effective as well, especially when you can buy almost all of them on Amazon in bulk! (I don’t know how many people out there are aware of the cost of gluten free food, but next time you are at the store you should look. I refuse to pay 7$ for a box of cereal…) 

My number one favorite gluten free item from Bob’s Red Mill is their Steel Cut Oats. Even before I went gluten free I was eating these, and to this day I have yet to eat better oats. All my oatmeal recipes can be made with these and they give you the crunch you crave and all the goodness from oatmeal without it being bland and mushy.

Can be bought from the Bob’s Red Mill site for $10.88 for a case of four.

 

The second favorite of my gluten free buys also comes from Bob’s Red Mill. Seeing as though I have always enjoyed a good sandwich, not being able to eat bread was kind of a bummer, and the Udi brand gluten free bread was just not something that we could really afford, nor was it that good. (Now I’m not saying it wouldn’t be if it was fresh and not frozen like you have to buy it here.) Bob’s Red Mill Homemade Wonderful bread was the perfect solution to that problem. It makes a huge loaf of bread and is extremely close to tasting  just like a normal slice of bread would taste; and since it can be made in the bread machine it becomes very convenient and easy to make. Now the calorie count isn’t low like you can buy in some breads, but as an occasional treat, it works just right.

Can be bought from the Bob’s Red Mill site for 17.93 for a case of four. (Amazon can sometimes be a little cheaper..)

 

The last of my gluten free loves for this list is a dessert recipe. Since splurging on your diet most of the time means that you are going to have something sweet, though for me usually means a nice meal at the Japanese steakhouse, having a gluten free brownie recipe was a must. I can be a chocoholic sometimes, I’m OK with admitting that. But the most important thing to remember is that if you are going to have something sweet, it is better to have something natural and healthy for you than some overly-processed good that is going to do more harm to your body than just increase your waist size. So this recipe has become a favorite to me and even my 5 year old loves them. The recipe comes from Chocolate Covered Katie (LOVE her blog tremendously, I totally recommend checking it out).

No-Flour Black Bean Brownies

1 1/2 cups black beans (1 15-oz can, drained and rinsed very well) 
2 tbsp cocoa powder- dutch or regular (10g) (add a little extra if desired)
1/2 cup quick oats (40g) 
1/4 tsp salt
1/3 cup pure maple syrup or agave (Honey will work)
2 nunaturals stevia packs or 2 tbsp sugar (or omit and increase maple syrup to 1/2 cup)
1/4 cup coconut or vegetable oil 
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup to 2/3 cup chocolate chips (Not optional. Omit at your own risk.) 

optional: more chips, for presentation

Preheat oven to 350 F. Combine all ingredients except chips in a good food processor, and blend until completely smooth. Really blend well. (A blender can work)  Stir in the chips, then pour into a greased 8×8 pan. Optional: sprinkle extra chocolate chips over the top. Cook 15-18 minutes, then let cool at least 10 minutes before trying to cut. Makes 9-12 brownies.

link to the original: http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2012/09/06/no-flour-black-bean-brownies/ 

I think these turn out a little bit more like fudge brownies than cake like ones, but I love that about it. Even after seeing the beans going into the brownies, my little boy was 100% OK with eating them. He thought it was funny that there were beans in his brownies. He has become quite the little chef. :)

So there you have it for today, a short and sweet list of a few of my favorite gluten free items. There are lots more, but I won’t bombard you with all of them at once. I think that learning more about how to better take care of my body and health will always be an ongoing process, but I am getting there. I want to be the best me I can be, and I am well on my way. :)

My question for you today is what do you do to make sure your food is working FOR your body and not AGAINST it? I will openly admit that I don’t always eat the healthiest foods I should eat, however most of the time I ardently try my best. I try to keep things natural and as little processed as I can. I want my son to see me making healthy choices so that he will make healthy choices as well. If I can keep him from ever struggling with food or his weight, I will have done what I set out to do.

For more information on Celiac’s Disease: http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/celiac-disease/DS00319 

I hope everyone has a great day! I am off to workout and de-clutter more of my mess. Until next time….

BTW, Here is a photo of a baked loaf of the Bob’s Red Mill, Gluten Free, Homemade Wonderful Bread…I think it looks even better than most store bought loaves if I do say so myself.

Gluten Free Bread

 

Leave a Reply

