Let’s Snack!


Today is all about sharing my favourites with you again. I am trying out a bunch of new recipes this week, and still haven’t found one that I really can gush over, so I think I will just tell you about a few healthy food options that I am loving at the moment!

First off, we have Dannon Oikos Greek Yogurt! I have loved every flavour I have tried so far. I am new to jump on the Greek yogurt banwagon because I really didn’t see the difference. Yogurt was just yogurt. After trying it however, I am a convert and will probably never go back to plain yogurt again. I am going to give you a side by side comparison of Yoplait regular yogurt and the Dannon Greek yogurt to show you some of the nutritional value you get with the Greek. I believe the biggest and most helpful of the differences is the amount of protein, because more protein means being fuller longer and feeding those muscles!

All that is missing is the Honey flavour…I just couldn’t wait to eat it. lol.

Nutrition for the Dannon Oikos Greek Yogurt, Blueberry (yum!):

Calories: 130

Total Fat:  0

Cholestorol: 5mg

Sodium: 50mg

Potassium: 160mg. 

Carbs: 20g

Sugars: 19g

Protien: 12g

Nutrition for Yoplait Light, Red Velvet Cake (My favourite flavour!)

Calories: 100

Total Fat: 0 

Cholesterol: Less that 5mg

Sodium: 85mg

Potassium: 250mg

Carbs: 19g

Sugars 14g

Protein: 5g

Both yogurts are clearly a better option than chips or other junk food snacks that we tend to go to when we are hungry or wanting a sweets fix. My main reason for choosing Greek yogurt is because of the fact that it has double the protein of the yogurt I was having before. The rich,, thick texture of Greek yogurt is a very satisfying way to fill in your meal or snack. Greek yogurt also has a lower sodium content which is extremely valuable when you are watching your sodium levels to “beat the bloat” and not feel like a balloon from having too much sodium in a day. I believe that the Greek yogurt has a higher sugar content because of all the fruit that you get on the bottom of the cup and the same goes for the carbohydrate levels because fruit is high in sugar and in carbs. All in all, I would say to give it a chance if you are looking for a change in your regular snacking go-to’s, a little change can go a long way!

Next up on my list of favourites would have to be JIF Omega-3 Creamy Peanut Butter.

This peanut butter is literally the creamiest peanut butter I have ever had in my life. Now I am not saying that it has less calories or a lower fat content than regular peanut butters, BUT this does have 32mg of DHA and EPA combined per serving. According to the label that is 20% of your daily value of Omega-3 DHA and EPA. Now what are those exactly you ask? These are fatty acids that our body needs, but cannot produce on it’s own. Fish is a huge source for these acids.

I will let you in on a secret I learned after devouring almost the entire jar of this peanut butter over the past few weeks, it has Anchovy and Sardine Oil and Tilapia Gelatin! You cannot taste or smell it, but that is where the omega-3 comes from! I almost fell out of my chair when I read that ingredient to my husband and laughed out loud. I swear to you that you cannot taste it at all! It does not deter me! :)

Anyway back to the point. These omega-3 fatty acids can help prevent cancers, literally feed your brain, give you healthier arteries, and can also help with your mood. Now clearly an actual piece of fish will probably be your best bet to get all the Omega-3 your body needs, but if you are like me and are not the biggest fish eater, then this can be a helpful snack to have around! So grab yourself a jar with some graham crackers or apple slices and enjoy a nice nutritious snack for the day!

Lastly for all of you out there who LOVE chips just as I do, I feel it is necessary to share my new healthy chip obsession, POPCHIPS!

So many choices!

These chips are so delicious and they really do not taste like they would be a healthy snack option at all. They have no preservatives, no artificial flavours or colors, no cholesterol, 0 grams of saturated fat, 0 grams of trans fat, and no gluten ingredients! They are popped, not baked or fried, and you get at least 17 chips per serving. I have had the original, BBQ, and sour cream and onion and have loved them all. They come in individual 100 calorie serving bags to for those who do not like to count out chips. To put this into perspective serving wise, one serving of doritos is about 130 calories…for six chips. Now you show me a person that can sit down and eat JUST six doritos. While you are at the store getting your Greek yogurt and Omega-3 peanut butter, you should pick yourself up a bag of these as well. ;)

So that is pretty much it for the day, these two snacks make a daily appearance in my diet so I just thought maybe it would be beneficial to you as well. I hope you all have a lovely day!

=Holley=

Leave a Reply

