When the tough gets going…


Ok, so yesterday was my first experience with Phase Three/Cardio Three of Jillian Micheal’s Body Revolution Program.

OMG.

That was the hardest, but most body satisfying, workout I have ever completed. I thought she was insane with all of the moves. And when she comes out and explains that it is probably the hardest workout she has ever put together…well you know what is coming.

I however felt really good physically and mentally once I got through it. I really love the group of people she has for her dancers (I always feel so strange calling them that). They really are fun to watch and when you see a super in shape person struggling just like you, it helps to keep you going. It is almost like “Hey! They are about to pass out, so if I do it will be ok…but only if they do it first!!”

I want to share some of the harder moves that put me in my place. :)

Rock-star Jumps

Step 1: Stand with your feet about shoulder-width apart, then jump straight up as high as you can and try to touch your heels to your butt.

Step 2: Land with your knees soft, then immediately jump up again.

Jumping Front Kick (Ok, really I loved this one.)

(uh hello...I want to be able to knock people out like Anderson Silva!!)

 

Step 1: Balance yourself with one foot, the back foot facing the left or right, depending on what foot it is. This should create a “L” shape with both feet

Step 2: Bring your back foot up to about waist high, and in one movement spring up with your front foot, bringing your back foot forward, and then scissor it back, moving your front foot forward and snapping your leg out with your toes pulled back

Step 3: At the end of performing this kick, your back leg should touch the ground first

 

 

Squat Jumps

Step 1 :Stand with feet shoulder-width apart, arms at sides.

Step 2: Start by doing a regular squat and then jump up as explosively as you can when you rise up reaching for the ceiling.

Step 3: When you land, lower your body back into the squat position to complete one rep.

Long Jump!

Step 1: Stand with feet together and make sure you have plenty of space in front of you.

Step 2: Lower into a squat and jump forward as far as you can in an explosive movement.

Step 3: Hop backwards in a squat position two times, and repeat.

 

So those are just a few of the exercises off of the Cardio workout. I was to dazed and sweaty to remember more (it all seems like such a blur..) Suffice it to say though that I have never been sweatier in my life, nor as red as I was after that workout. It is one you have to look back on and think, “Wow, look what I did today…

So True.

A report on my nine pound goal: I have lost two pounds as of yesterday between Sunday and Wednesday. Yay! Only 7 more to go and 3 weeks to get there!

I hope everyone has a great night. A shower and reading more of the Mocking Jay (for the third time) for this girl. :)

=Holley=

 

Leave a Reply

