Pip Pip Cheerio!


Today I thought I would share another breakfast staple of mine, or lunch staple, or dinner! Heck, even a snack staple! Since I started to eat healthier (and really even before I did) I have become an avid fan of Cheerios. Cheerios are so versatile in the fact that there are so many flavors out there to choose from, as well as the fact that Cheerios are extremely healthy. Here are a few of the facts pulled right off of their website…

  • 14 Vitamins & Minerals
  • Low Fat
  • Good source of calcium
  • Good source of fiber
  • Made with whole grain*
  • Helps reduce the risk of heart disease
  • Can help lower cholesterol*
  • 1g sugar
  • Excellent source of iron
  • Certified by the American Heart Association, Learn more at heartcheckmark.org
  • *3 grams of soluble fiber daily from whole grain oat foods, like Cheerios cereal, in a diet low in saturated fat and cholesterol, may reduce the risk of heart disease. Cheerios cereal provides 1 gram per serving.
(These are all the facts from just your regular Cheerios, but after looking through most all of the other boxes they all are basically alike in the benefits they can provide. You can look into a certain type for more detail here: http://www.cheerios.com/products)

If the health benefits are not enough to rope you in, according to their website there are 13 different kinds of Cheerios out as of now! My personal favorites are the Dulce de Leche, Multigrain Peanut Butter, and the Honey Nut. (I honestly could buy a box of every kind they offer though and eat them daily.) Just think of how you can try something new a flavorful weekly!

Need I say more..

From looking at the nutritional information most types of Cheerios contain between 100-120 calories per serving. And if you are serving it with almond milk, you could have a bowl of cereal and milk for around 170 calories. Then you are free to bulk that up with eggs, bacon, coffee, toast, fruit, or even fruit for in your cereal….the possibilities are endless. (though I would only suggest the fruit to actually put IN your cereal bowl…)

So my suggestion for you it to go out and buy yourself a box or two of Cheerios and try them all. It is an easy way to mix up when you are stuck in that breakfast rut…

That is my shpeal for today I hope that everyone enjoys the rest of theirs. Until next time….

=Holley=

 

Fun Fact! Cheerios (or know as Cheeri Oats back in the day..) have been around since 1941! So enjoy yourself a little part of history! <3

2 thoughts on “Pip Pip Cheerio!

  1. I’m going to buy Cheerios now. I love dry cereal with fat free Greek yogurt. Or even granola and if you break up your Cheerios and freeze your yogurt until almost frozen them.fold in your Cheerios its like having ice cream at cold stone creamery. More than half the price less and calories ha we wont go there.

    1. I love them. I am obsessed with the peanut butter ones. Peanut butter is just good on everything I think…lol. Maybe tomorrow I will make it a point to have peanut butter in every meal…hmmmm.

Leave a Reply

