It was a Dark and Chocolaty Morning…


…and it was delicious. :) So this morning I look into my fridge for my apple for my daily oatmeal, and low and behold…no apples! I did not buy enough for the week, so instead I decided to attempt my own version of oatmeal inspired by a recipe that I have tried before. I wanted to make it my own though, so I broke out my calculator, measuring spoons, and all the calorie information and decided to make it official. What did I concoct you ask? I call it my Chocolaty Goodness Oatmeal! This is the first recipe I have ever made up and made my own, so it felt good for it to turn out just the way I wanted it too. :)

Image

Here is the recipe:

1/4 cup of Steel Cut Oats ( I would say you could use Rolled Oats as well, Steel Cut are just my preference these days)

3/4 cup plus 1TBS of Original Almond Milk (You could also use Vanilla, or maybe even the Chocolate flavor if you wanted to, I just used what I had in my fridge.)

1 TBS. of Peanut Butter (I used the Simply JIF brand)

1 tsp. of Unsweetened Cocoa Powder

1 tsp. of Brown Sugar (I would have used Stevia if I was not out, but the Brown Sugar is only 15 calories anyway)

1 to 2 tsp. of Mini Chocolate Chips (I used just 1 tsp on mine, but you could add more if you wanted)

I added all the ingredients, besides the mini chocolate chips, to my bowl and cooked it according to the directions of the oatmeal packaging. I have the Wholesome Goodness brand of Quick Cook Steel Cut Oats so they can be microwaved, and so that is the way I prepared the recipe. I believe that if you were to cook them on the stove you would do it the exact same way. After if it is finished, you can put your Mini Chocolate Chips on top and they will slowly melt and get all gooey and delicious over all the oatmeal. Serve and Enjoy!

Total Calories: 332 (and it worked extremely well at satisfying the sweet tooth, while getting in my morning oatmeal, so I will take it the 332. lol.)

I really hope that you will try this and I hope you like it. I really enjoyed it, but I made it, so I may not be giving it a harsh enough criticism. lol. So ALL feedback is absolutely appreciated! I hope you all have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

