Let It Be Grilled!


Today was all about the barbecue.<3. It was beautiful outside today so today was a grilling out kind of day. So THIS is what I made…

Thank you Hungry Girl

These are Grilled BBQ Seafood Skewers from, of course, Hungry Girl! They were really wonderful. You use the exact same BBQ sauce as you use for the BBQ Bacon Bundled Shrimp. I swear I could drink the sauce by itself, so I thought I would share the recipe for the BBQ sauce! For both BBQ recipes that I have made so far you use as follows:

Hungry Girl BBQ Sauce

1/4 cup tomato sauce

2 TBS apple cider vinegar

2 TBS brown sugar

2 TBS ketchup

1/2 tsp garlic powder

That’s it! It is soooo simple and cheap that it makes buying BBQ sauce seems silly. I think the next time I use it, I will make grilled chicken. Now the calorie count for the BBQ Seafood Skewers are 299 calories for 2 skewers. Which honestly seems like a lot, I know, but considering each skewer is filled with shrimp, scallops, salmon, zucchini, and they are SUPPOSED to have cherry tomatoes as well (I left mine off because I am not a fan.), you are getting a LOT of bang for your 299 calories. I had mine with a side of steamed broccoli and cheese (Green Giant Just for One!) and it was a filling meal and was also a great change up from the normal foods.

Fish, especially types such as salmon, are absolutely wonderful for your health and can actually aid in the prevention of heart disease. I have never been a fish person myself, but I am learning to love it. I cannot keep my body from the benefits that it can get from such a power food. I hope that those of you out there who are afraid to try new foods like fish will give it a try, I PROMISE you that you will not be sorry. =) Have a great evening everyone!

Here is the link to the skewers recipe, enjoy!http://www.hungry-girl.com/show/hungry-grill-saucy-bbq-seafood-skewers-with-not-so-secret-bbq-sauce-recipe

Question for today: I personally get discouraged when I mess up a recipe, or it turns out to be not so good. How do you stay motivated in the kitchen to not give up on cooking healthy?

2 thoughts on “Let It Be Grilled!

  1. Try it again if it doesn’t work out the first time. No chef has ever made a perfect recipe the 1st time. The tweek it and make so many adjustments until its just right. Don’t get discouraged just try it again. Remember what you did wrong the first time and make it right the second.

    1. I think i get messed up in the techniques. I am no skilled chef so I always mess up in cutting something right, or overcooking it. One of these days I will get it. lol. I am just now starting to really practice my cooking skills anyway. :)

Leave a Reply

