Get UN-comfortable.


Oh how many times I have heard Jillian say this to me over the past few month. FINALLY last night it really hit me as to how much that is a big key to success when working out.  If you are not getting UN-comfortable, if you are not hurting, if you are not sweating and begging for mercy on your poor body…then you are not pushing yourself as hard as you can go.

My workouts are becoming progressively harder. This is my fourth week of the 90 Day Body Revolution and I am finally starting to push myself to do those advanced moves, to add more weight, and to see more results. Jillian says in one of the workouts for week’s three and four that “it is only 30 minutes, anyone can do anything for 30 minutes.” I am becoming a firm believer in that fact. Two months ago I would have collapsed on my floor after 10 minutes of one of the workouts that I am working with now, but now I am stronger and my body is ready for me to challenge it even more. (I can now do about 8 regular push-ups before I have to start doing the modified push-ups on my knees! And for me, that is a big accomplishment.)

Today I thought I would share a few exercises that I have really grown to love and hate. They are some that make me hurt the worst, but feel the best when I am done. Jillian also says something on these past two workouts that I love and that is “Just Try One”. It is such good advice, because you really do not know what you are capable of until you at least try it. You can’t say you can’t, if you have never done it before. So here are a few for you to “Just Try One” of:

Sumo Squats with Triceps Extension:

Step 1: Hold a dumbbell in each hand and stand with your feet wider apart than your shoulders and with your toes angled outward. Extend both arms directly over your head so they are perpendicular to the floor, palms facing each other and in line with your body.

Step 2: Lower your body until your thighs are parallel to the floor. At the same time, bend your arms and slowly lower the dumbbells behind your head. Keep your elbows close to your head and pointed straight up throughout the movement. Hold for a beat, then exhale as you return to the starting position. Repeat.

This one is KILLER on the inner thighs and “glute” area, and extremely painful on the arms as well. I have already started to tone my inner thigh more, which is great because that is a hard area to tone.

Lateral Shoulder Raises

Step 1
Stand upright with your feet shoulder-width apart and your arms at your sides. Hold a dumbbell in each hand with your palms turned toward your body.

Step 2
Keeping your arms straight, exhale and lift the weights out and up to the sides until they are parallel to the ground. Hold for a beat. Inhaling, slowly lower your arms back to the starting position, and repeat.

Ok, so I know that this is not an “advanced” move or a really crazy move, BUT by using heavier weights (I am only up to 5 pound dumbbells, but it is progress from my three pound weights!) you are able to put more resistance on your shoulders. To make it even harder (which Jillian does in the workout I do) drop down into a half-squat and stay there while you do your reps. Mine arms and shoulders are looking more sculpted every day, so this one is a keeper.

Surrenders

Step 1 Hold a dumbbell in each hand, and raise them straight up over your head.

Step 2 Drop your left leg back into a kneeling position.

Step 3 Drop the right leg back into a kneeling position.

Step 4 Step back up to standing position with the left leg and then the right. For the next repetition, start with the opposite leg. Repeat with the opposite leg each time you drop down.

This one is so hard for me. It is the getting back up that I struggle with. I only use 3 pound weights for this one, but hopefully with time I will get better at it.

So there are a ton of other exercises that I could share, however I will save them for another post. These are just a few of the ones that have been in my past few workouts that have really kicked my butt.

Lastly for today…

I found this great picture on Pinterest that really meant something to me. It says “woman” on it, but I believe the fact is true for any person, any size, shape, or so on. As soon as my printer has some ink I will be starting a new vision board and this will be going on it for sure. Hope everyone has a great day!!

so very true.
2 thoughts on “Get UN-comfortable.

  1. I love hearing about girls kicking ass, trying new things, and getting tougher! Especially when you realize that you aren’t tied down to girl push ups for the rest of your life! Rock on!

Leave a Reply

