Through Sickness and Health…


Happy Leap Day Everyone!

Love the picture I found on Pinterest this morning. It is so true! We get a whole extra day this year to devote to making ourselves a better us! At least that is what I plan on doing today.

This weekend was however the complete opposite of a better me, it was a very ill me..

Sickness invaded my household causing me to lay in bed almost the entire weekend and caused me to miss THREE workouts, which made me very mad. It is so funny for me to hear myself say that. I never thought in my life that I would feel that way. However, I did feel that way. Yesterday I got right back to the program and started my Week Three workouts.

Last night was Workout 3. (da, da, duuuummmm…goes the ominous music…)

WOW, Jillian can be a mean, mean lady. She is so motivating though. As you are about to collapse onto the floor in a pile of blood, sweat, and tears (OK, maybe not blood..hopefully not..), as Jillian is flinging phrases like “comfort is for pansies!” at you, she knows the exact moment to throw in the inspiration such as “more burn means better results” or “you are a winner.” It is almost like she has a mind tap through the television and knows you need something to push you through. It makes your brain tell your body…HEY! You are NOT done! You CAN do this! You WILL do this! And will feel AMAZING for it! At least that is what happens with me.

So I thought I would share one of the harder exercises on the circuits from last nights workout. They are called Plank-Ups. I am sure some of you have heard of it before, but I personally had only done them one other time on one of Jillian’s other DVD’s. I think that I had been doing them wrong though. Last night my arms were struggling to push the rest of me back up. Here is the run-down:

-First you start in Plank position. 

-Then drop your right elbow to the floor, then your left elbow.

-Then you bring your right arm straight, then your left, back into plank.

-I am not sure of the reps, on Jillian’s DVD you just do it for 30 second spurts of time, just do as many as you can until you feel like you can’t do anymore. 

Here is a link that gives a more detailed description and has a photo of the actual exercise,This website also has a TON of other exercises that you can try out. I will let you know if I stumble upon any more that Jillian decides to put me through!: http://www.fitnessmagazine.com/workout/lose-weight/burn-fat/target-every-trouble-zone-in-3-moves/?page=5

Lastly, I wanted to add a little something about exercising while sick. I wanted to see what Jillian’s online website had to say about what you should do if you are sick and are wondering if it is OK to exercise. I know that I was before I started to wither into a crumpled heap of blankets and ginger ale….This is STRAIGHT from Jillian herself and the ASK JILLIAN portion of her online site:

JILLIAN SAYS: The rule of thumb for exercising while sick is called the above/below-the-neck rule. If your symptoms appear above the neck (runny nose, sneezing, sore throat), then yes, you can continue with a low-intensity workout. Studies have shown that exercising at a moderate-intensity level does not intensify cold symptoms or compromise the immune system. Avoid high-intensity exercise, such as heavy weight lifting and high-intensity aerobic training, which has been shown to have a negative impact on the immune system during a cold or any respiratory infection.

If your symptoms are below the neck (diarrhea, intense coughing, vomiting, fever), then the American College of Sports Medicine and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention suggest you let your illness run its course before resuming physical activity.

So now we all know! And I am glad that I followed her advice. It really was best to wait and get back into exercising after I was better.

I know this has been a long one, but I feel like I have been gone for ages since I did not accomplish anything from being sick and catching up on all things life and school related. I hope everyone has a great day!

Leave a Reply

